Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The Internet has brought significant changes to our lives in recent years. Yet, there remains some disagreement about whether the invention of the Internet is the most crucial part of the world history in technology. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, personally, I agree that even though there were a large number of inventions during the development of the world, the Internet invention brought a large impact in social life and became the most essential invention in the world.

First of all, it is undeniable that the Internet had changed the way people communicate. Nowadays, people started to use e-mail and social media to communicate instead of oral communicating. However, it helps individuals who are living far away from home could contact their loved ones and could trade globally also.

Equally importantly, though, the Internet has placed the entire of the world, includes all of the information at our fingertips. In the earlier times, the society had to wait for hours for receiving the information from newspapers. Whereas in contrast, nowadays, the public can access the information at a click of a button. However, not all of the information that people receive on the Internet is reliable and helpful. There was a large amount of offensive, dangerous information appeared on social media or news websites. For instance, there are instructions how to make a bomb appeared on the Internet and could be read by negative individuals.

By the way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that the invention of the Internet had a crucial role in the history of the world improvement and it has brought a positive impact on modern life