Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a controversy that the computer is the invention that has the most influence on the world of the last centuries. While I agree with the idea that computer plays a key role in the today's world, I believe there are other inventions that are far more crucial.

On the one hand, the computer is an indispensable part of our lives. Thanks to the invention of computer, a huge amount of data can be stored and kept for our generations. For example, students can easily find information, guides for their homework, school projects on computers in the library. This would help to accumulate our knowledge and therefore broaden our horizon. Another reason is people can interact with others every time, everywhere they find it comfortable. For example, business meeting can be conducted through zoom, a video meeting app, which allows mutiple companies to do business together.

On the other hand, despite the benefits that the computer can bring to society, I believe there are other more important invention. The first one that should be mentioned is the electricity.The computer is beneficial but it needs electricity. Additionally, the creation of smartphone has positive impacts on society. A smartphone is versatile and functional, quite similar to computer, but more portable. Last but not least, the development of electric vehicles would receive attention. Many nations are suffered from air pollution, while these vehicles do not emit any carbon dioxide or other elements that harm the environment. This would lead to a significant reduce in air pollution and an improvement in health and lifestyles of citizens.

In conclusion, the computer is definitely essential for our lives. However, other inventions such as smartphone, electricity, eclectric vehicles are far more vital.