Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that reading has more positive impacts on the abilities of offspring than watching TV or playing video games. While I accept that reading is essential for the development of a child, I believe that utilize digital devices also plays an equally important role in the life of a child.

On the one hand, reading is indispensable for a child. Due to the massive amount of knowledge contained in a book, reading can improve the capability of imagination and linguistic skills. For example, fairy tales usually have meaningful and fantastical stories, which would enhance creativity of a child. Beside, through reading these stories, children could be better understand of grammatical and lexical utilization. Therefore, they can be more confident when they study at school. Additionally, reading requires the comprehension of the concept and the context. Achieving this would dramatically enhance the intelligence and cognition of a child.

On the other hand, I believe watching TV or playing video games could bring the same or even better benefits for offspring. The first reason, similar to reading, watching TV and playing games could improve the ability of creativity and linguistic skills. For example, decision-based video games, which is the type of games tailored by how you play, require gamers know their circumstances and have to choose the right solution. By playing these games, therefore children would learn from experience every time they choose the wrong solution. Another reason is by watching channels about tourism, children could know more about their country and foreign countries. Books are only able to provide some images about a country in comparison with tourism channels could provides more detail and specific images about a country. Thus, children can imagine about their world they are living in.

In conclusion, while I accept that reading is vital for a child, I believe watching TV or playing computer games could be equally important.