People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

Currently, the number of individuals consuming sugary beverage is increasing. Reasons for the occurrence of this trend and solutions for reducing soft drink consumption will be mentioned in this essay.

There are several reasons why people have the tendency to consume these drinks. Because sugar-based beverages often have a great number of addictive ingredients, they might be irresistible. For example, Red Bulls contain a huge amount of caffeine, which is a highly addictive substance. Additionally, people often mentally associate these drinks as a source of energy because of sugary ingredients in these drinks can stimulate people for a while, make them become more vigorous. Last but not least, the widespread beverage marketing as the beverage companies spend heavily to promote these drinks. For example, advertisements made by these companies might be exaggerated and very colorful, which would attract a great number of children.

The excessive of sugar-containing drink consumption can be solved with several measures. The first solution is raising individual awareness. By conducting a survey to encourage people reduce their soft drink intake and eat or drink healthier sustenance. Another solution is the media should stop having beverage commercial. Therefore, people would not see any of these commercials, and they would not consume any soft drinks. Last but not least, since offspring is the one that easily influenced by these advertisements, they need to be guided and supervised. This would lead to reduction in the amount of soft drinks consumed by children.

In conclusion, the overuse of sugar-based drinks results from the need of individuals and the media. Therefore, each person and the governments should take some effective measures to minimize the consumption of soft drink because it is essential.