In conclusion, I believe that introducing stricter regulations for driving offences is a much better measure to increase road safety in comparison with increasing the minimum driving age.

It is believed that raising the minimum driving age is the most effective method to improve road safety. While I accept that this approach has some effects in the short term, I believe that a longer-term and better solution is to impose stricter punishments for driving offences.

I think that increasing the minimum legal driving age can help reduce traffic accidents, thus improving the safety of roads. This is because a large number of traffic incidents are caused by young people’s careless driving. Many of them are not mature enough to fully understand the serious consequences of their actions or to be responsible for what they caused. Raising the driving age, therefore, can make sure that the youngest drivers are mature enough to take driving seriously and to protect their own lives and other people’s lives when driving.

In my opinion, however, this approach is only effective to a limited extent, due to the fact that nowadays many youngsters still drive without a driving licence. So, a more effective way to ensure road traffic safety is to impose more severe punishments on those who commit driving offences. For example, a longer prison sentence could be given for very serious offences and a heavier fine could be imposed for running a red light or driving without a helmet. These punishments could help deter potential offenders and prevent people from re-offending.