When discussing about who should be responsible for covering all medical costs for diagnosing and treating diseases, it is often believed that the government should shoulder these expenditures. In this essay, I would like to examine this viewpoint and provide my personal conclusion.

To begin with, it is a matter of fact that in many countries, especially developing countries like Vietnam, poor people are often prevented from going to or staying in the hospitals for medical treatment because they can not afford it. As a result, if the government offered a free healthcare system, it could certainly give an equal opportunity for every citizens to be diagnosed and treated many illnesses especially serious diseases such as lung, throat or liver cancer and heart- related diseases. Secondly, it is also true that, the welfare state for free public services health could encourage every people to have regular medical check- ups to protect them from being suffer deadly diseases. Therefore, many lives of them would be either saved or lengthened significantly.

However, it should also be borne in mind that, in our society, there are a lot of well-off people who can certainly afford their healthcare costs. Secondly, it it undeniable that many governments around the world are experiencing tremendous financial difficulties and thus cannot spend more funding on providing free healthcare services to their citizens. As a result, a free health care system, would be a financial impractical policy that would cause governments to waste a lot of money.

In conclusion, I personally believe that although the government should not be responsible for paying all healthcare costs for their citizens, the poor who cannot afford these costs by themselves should still receive assistance from their authority.