Countries are becoming more and more similar because people can buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is widely seen that due to the similarities of products, countries in the world are becoming analogous to each other. Even though this trend has both benefits and drawbacks, on balance, I believe the negative influences outweigh positive ones on this development.

On the one hand, people believe this revolution has numerous advantages. Firstly, similar merchandises allow full access to people around the world. Take smartphone as a relevant example, since a host of worldwide brands such as Samsung, Nokia as well as local brand produce phones with alike models, people are spoilt for choices. Secondly, analogous products promote competition between companies, thus, improves the quality of goods as well as decrease the prices. Burger King and McDonald's, for instance, keep the same prices for fast food, enabled customers to experience the fast-food chain. Samsung and Apple also take part in technological races; therefore, they produce high-tech goods for customers.

On the other hand, the negative impacts of this trend cannot be overlooked. The first reason for this belief is the fake merchandise produced by mainly small companies due to the low budget of them. This act, thus, has impacts on health as well as the environment. People now use pesticides for food products which are bad for people's health. The environment is damaged due to careless processes since waste is discharged without being handled. Moreover, this development may be bad for traditional workers in a country as industrial products are much cheaper. Therefore, this hinders workers and could lead to the diminishing of the traditions of a country.

In conclusion, despite the doubled-side effects of this development, I believe this trend has more negative influences on different aspects of a country.