Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that international brands, such as McDonald’s, KFC and Burger King, expand their locations throughout the whole world, making the boundaries between countries to disappear in terms of consumerism. In my opinion, this is a negative development for several reasons.

Having a wide variety of international products to buy, clients tend to lose their cultural identity. It is important for consumers to remain attached to their traditional values in terms of shopping. In this way, their original country is encouraged to maintain their local products as a source of a cultural signpost. Without sufficient consumers to buy their products, local businesses would collapse. For instance, in my country, several traditional restaurants were forced to close their doors due to the loss of clients, after the opening of McDonald’s chain.

Another negative aspect of expanding the international shops is the financial one. Firstly, on an individual level, the client is forced to pay higher costs in order to allow the international chains to maintain standard qualities of their products. The products are more expensive because the business owners are required to pay more on transport since the most of the raw products are not local. For example, in my country, the traditional products are low-priced because the costs for local businesses are reasonable. Secondly, the economy of the local country is affected too, since clients are not buying traditional products. Finally, when people are not sustaining their local economic growth, jobs are lost and the quality of life decreases dramatically.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the similarity between countries due to the expanding of international brands is a negative development.