In countries the average weight of people are increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is said that health is wealth and without good health condition a person cannot enjoy their life. Health is often related to one’s weight and fitness levels since excess fat in body is linked to various disease according to numerous medical studies. Generally speaking people in some countries might be fit overall; however on the other hand, the average weight of people are rising at an alarming rate which is the issue of great concern. On this note this essay will first discuss some of the main causes of increasing weight of people and then it will talk about measure that could be taken to tackle this problem.

To begin with, one of the primary reason for the increase in obesity among people and their indolent behavior is the advancement in technology. Although technology has made our lives easier and more efficient; on the negative side, it has changed our lifestyle and replaced many of our physical activities with lazier ones. For example, in previously times children used to spend their leisure time playing sports and indulge in other outdoor physical activities, but now most of the people spend their free time playing video games or surfing the internet. Another factor to blame for soaring average weight is the change in diet of people. According to one survey, due to rapid pace of life people are becoming more and more reliant on fast food and processed food to satisfy their appetites which contain high proportion of oil and artificial fats that are not only high caloric but are also deleterious to our health.

Looking at the problems associated with fat and deteriorating health of the people it is crucial that steps should be taken to encourage health lifestyle among people. Schools and workplace should build gymnasiums and encourage student and employees to participate in physical exercises. Also, government should take actions that improve the general health of people, for instance it should devise policies that discourage the selling of fast food and processed food by imposing high taxes on such items and using the collected tax on country’s health resources. Furthermore, government should do awareness campaign among the citizen and built infrastructure resources for city’s resident such as jogging track and sports ground where they can perform physical activities.

To summarize, owing to various factors the average weight of people has increased considerably in recent years and the soon we realize the negative consequences of it and take step to hinder them the better it would be for us and our future generations to come.