Many people claim that nations with average working hours are prosperous in economy than those countries with average office hours. I fully disagree with this statement because excessive working time can lead to negative impacts on employee's health and social life.

To begin with, prolonging the duration of working hours may not improve the productivity of employees. To be more specific, extended working hours can push employee's health in illness and fatigue since employees do not have time for exercising and relaxing. An unhealthy lifestyle could increase the risk of heart disease, diabetes and stress. As a result, working excessively may decline labor performance. A recent research shows that extending office hours adversely contribute to health problems, which impact directly on decreased productivity.

Another point to consider that employee's social life affected by working overtime. In more detail, people may find it hard to socialize and spend time on entertainment. Because of long work hours, some employees difficultly maintain their relationship and their family. A recent study shows that 70% of Japanese adults tend to remain single, which affect negatively to low birthrate in Japan, due to excessive working. Consequently, birthrates are likely to fall, which leaves a society with an aging population and influences harmful economy.

In conclusion, this essay affirms that extended office hours in some countries is not affluent economically than countries, where do not have a long work hours. Excessive work hours may not only impact detrimentally on employee's performance but also affect employees' social life.