A country's government must preserve its culture by supporting arts like popular music and movies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Any country and its people are set apart from the rest of the world by their culture, ways and methods. Cultural and school of thought define a nation's progress in more ways than one. Thus preserving the cultural identity of a people is crucial to the existence of a country. However, I disagree that the government must do so by supporting arts like popular music and movies.

Popular music and movies are not a true reflection of pure culture. They are, by definition, media that are trending and popular among people, but may not necessarily be an impression of their culture. For example, one comes across Punjabi- and Pakistani-made music quite often in today's India. Although these songs undoubtedly carry some traditional elements from their origins, some barely resemble the music sung by ancestors of their makers. Popularity is merely transient, and cannot be mistaken for the permanence of culture. Similarly, movies become popular depending on the likes and dislikes of the audience at the time of release. The favourability of a genre of movies is subjective. Moreover, very few movies end up capturing the essence of a country's culture, and they may not be mainstream blockbusters after all.

Alternatively, traditional art forms seen in a country and practised by its population can be a better reflection of culture. A country's government must support traditional music, poetry and prose as these not only originate from but also speak of the history, customs and beliefs of the location they were born in. What better example of the same than the folk music of Maharashtra, India? Maharashtrians used to write, sing and revel in traditional music, poems and prayers in the form of "ovi's" and "abhang's" in earlier days. These songs spoke of the bravery of soldiers and of the greatness of saints, both essential components of Maharashtrian culture. Even simple poems from, say, the coast of the state depict daily life and customers of the people through the ages. Thus, the government must focus on keeping such art forms alive and saving them from extinction.

Moving beyond the fine art, culture is also very well showcased by architectural structures, culinary history and languages. Our history makes us who we are, and our languages define where we come from. government authorities must invest in preserving and restoring old buildings, forts and castles. They must promote indigenous cuisines and local dialects, some of which are buried under the sands of time, rendering them a mystery to today's generation. Popular music and movies are a great indication of current trends, and help us to fuse our culture with that of others around the globe. They do, indeed, deserve the government's support. However, to preserve the culture of a country, traditional art forms must be given more importance.