Creative artists should always have the freedom to express their ideas in anyway they wish. The government should not restrict what they do. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Artists should be able to have the liberty to express their opinions without too many restrictions on them, otherwise the country can no longer develop as there wouldn't be anyone to question the thoughts and motives of others. But even then, some restrictions are needed to to be placed on them to avoid unnecessary conflict and protect the ones on whom harm is intended.

Firstly, artists should have freedom to express themselves, and only then is the country going to move forward. Artists are needed in the society to question and give alternative thoughts on a situation, which is very much needed so that people in general don't just follow a trend or what opinion is popular, instead they will start to think on their own too. For example,Charles Dickens and Victor Hughes in 1880's have questioned and opposed against the England and France governments respectively which helped the nations to move forward.

On contrary, some restrictions are needed to avoid conflict. For artists, while expressing what they think is right, sometimes their opinions might hurt a group of people. Moreover, the society's opinions can be very much influenced by what the artists put out which in some situations can be extremely hurtful. For instance, if an artist expresses his or her opinion on the topic of racial discrimination in a way that it hurts a particular group of people, some part of the society's thoughts on this topic might get influenced by this, which is quite harmful.

In conclusion, artists should be given the freedom to give their opinions, thoughts and ideas but along with the artistic freedom given, restrictions are required too. When that liberty is taken away from the artists, the society will not progress ahead, but then again, if there are no restrictions are placed, the society would be in shambles.