Crime

Some people believe that in these days, the number and the violence of criminals are rising in various nations. This essay will take a closer look at some major causes and effective solutions for this issue.

There are some main reasons for this phenomenon. Firstly, as a result of overpopulation in these modern days, the increasing high competitiveness in job markets can lead to the underemployment and then causes more unemployeds who have low living standards. Those people, when becoming pessimistic, tend to do negative activities or even be criminals, such as thieves, burglars and drug dealers in order to make ends meet. For example, the Philippines, which is a small poor country with over 100 million citizens, has the biggest number of drug smugglers in the world that the Government has to impose capital punishment for any people relating to drugs. Secondly, due to the global cover of the internet and the popularity of computers and smartphones, the violent information and program which form people’s characteristics into criminals - especially the young generation, can be spread easier.In other words, criminals tend to become younger and more violent than before. For example, one of the most serious consequences is that the Vietnamese child who watched and played bloody games on the internet murdered his grandfather not allowing him to play these kinds of games anymore.

In my opinion, the Government should take some measures to tackle this issue effectively. Firstly, providing vocational training for unemployeds is the best way to ensure the good living standard for them and reduce the negative impacts of overpopulation. Secondly, they also should impose strict laws, such as the capital punishment, to encourage law-abiding citizens and prevent the violent or terrorist information and games from spreading on the internet. Lastly, investing in education to raise the sense of civic responsibility is the main and important solution.

In conclusion, there are some reasons for the increase of the number and violent level of criminals, I believe that a number of measures should be done by the authorities to overcome the problem.