Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel. Do you think advantages outweight disadvatages?

Nowadays, taking a gap-year after high school to travel is seemed to be a phenomenon in our society. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I believe that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks that students should not spend one year off to travel. Firstly, it can not deny that traveling is very expensive and particularly students are incapable to earn money by themselves. This amount of money should be saved for learning in university in stead of traveling. Not only do the students waste the money but also waste the time for travelling. One year after high school is a good time to training or learning more about the major knowledge such as English or computer which did not mentioned much in high school.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for this view is that students set aside time for taking journeys to broaden their knowledge. My friend, for example, he chose to be a real traveler escape from the long lasting theory to gain knowledge and ethnic minority culture throughout the country to decide what he likes and who he want to be. Another reason is that young people will be more confident and good at soft skills in daily life after having one year to immerse themselves in the real world. Therefore, they are able to deal with the problems and come over the difficulty situations because of being equipped with knowledge and skills in theory and real life.

In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of this trend are more significant than the disadvantages such as expand the horizon and enhance the soft skills that can not buy by money.