Applied science has generated significant positive impacts in a crime field. Owing to the unconventional mechanisation, many nations have witnessed a marked slump in the proportion of unlawful acts as opposed to antecedent times. I completely agree with the idea that the leading technology can deter and address crimes effectively. This essay will support my opinion with relevant examples.

To begin with, Global Satellite Positioning System has become immensely powerful in restricting outrageous behaviours as it remains a valuable tool to prevent stealing of automobiles from extreme gangsters. Crooks are often easily demoralised to carry out crimes because police can know precise whereabouts, speed and direction of the vehicle by virtue of the installed tracking device in the carrier. However, in the former centuries, law enforcement officers would have to patrol on feet as a result of lack of effective communications, which could play key roles for a considerable rise in crimes.

A part from a crime prevention, taking advantage of technology such as DNA fingerprinting and social media, police are tackling sophisticated crimes readily. For example, DNA based investigation led to successful capture of a suspect who was involved for at least 22 sexual assaults and robberies. Moreover, DNA of every individual is unique, making this type of examination a very useful mean of identifying cryptic criminals. Whereas in the past, police would memorise the facial characteristics of offenders owing to the lack of existing technology, criminals would often alter their appearances in order to evade arrests. Therefore, it ascertains why combating crimes was phenomenally successful now compared to the previous times.

In conclusion, it is clear that the above mentioned technological developments seem entirely worthy in limiting and dealing crimes as opposed to the prior era because of the effectiveness and accuracy.