Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly means of transport. However, it is getting less popular. What are the causes and solutions?

In the contemporary world, although riding a bicycle rather than other modes of transport offers a medium in protecting the environment and enhancing people's fitness, it really garners less attention among the masses. There exist several sound reasons for this uncommon use, and several initiatives are supposed to be introduced to mitigate the issue of broad interest.

To begin with, there are two primary underlying explanations for this unpopularity of bikes. First and foremost, it is manifest that motor vehicles are increasingly available, which is instrumental in improving the efficiency when residents engage in daily commuting. To be more precise, thanks to the wide appearance of motorbikes and cars with mass production at affordable prices, it would by all means decrease the time distribution to travelling, not to mention the fact that using motor vehicles instead of bikes is far less physically demanding. Consequently, it is really impractical to expect cycling to come into vogue. Besides, modern individuals are insufficiently aware of the significance of environmental protection as well as not being concerned about the negatives that their daily private vehicles could inflict on the surroundings. They have a propensity to put higher emphasis on their personal interests despite the outspread news coverage regarding the threat of exhaust fumes released from motor vehicles, thereby neglecting the values of commuting by bikes these days.

It is high time that earnest and urgent endeavors to increase the popularity of this environmentally friendly vehicle were jointly made by both the government and people involved. First of all, the authorities are supposed to impose heavier tax on private vehicle owners or increase the price of petrol fuelling motor vehicles. This solution functions as a medium to discourage the masses from overusing motorbikes or cars, empowering them to opt for cycling which is greatly beneficial for their health and the environment. What is more, many propagation campaigns had better be launched in a timely manner to heighten social awareness of this matter. In that spectrum, inhabitants are capable of cultivating the understanding of potential risks arising from excessive use of cars and gaining a deeper insight into how to enhance their physical endurance and fitness levels through taking advantage of bicycles.

To sum up, riding a bicycle, in spite of its merits, has not depicted a common picture in the daily routine for several primary reasons, and some measures should be put into practice simultaneously to improve the situation.