Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road might cause some problems. What are the problems? What could be done to solve those problems?

In this population explosion period, almost all governments focus on space optimization to save land for constructing houses, buildings, and offices. A popular strategy that relates to traffic is sharing carriageways for vehicles, such as bikes and cars. As far as I am concerned, this brings many detrimental effects to the traffic system. This essay will throw some light on this concept and suggest a couple of solutions.

To commence, we need to look at the fact that cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road might cause several problems. First, the most inevitable one is traffic congestion. When there is a wide range of transportation types using the same street, especially a small one, the traffic system could be overloaded. In particular, bikes and cars do not have similar speeds extend as well as the operation. As a result, their movements in the street are considerably different which does not benefit the whole system's smoothness. For example, when cyclists travel at a low speed, they can interrupt the movements of many cars behind them. Secondly, sharing the same carriageways for both bicycles and cars can lead to collisions in which travelers might encounter some fatal accidents. As cars' speed is much faster than bikes' one, the traffic accident can be worse.

In the same line with these discussions, there are some promising solutions. At first, the government could channel resources into expanding roads and dividing them into different carriageways for the distinct assortment of transportation. Even though this choice could take a large space, the safety of citizens should be put in priority. In case of lacking space for expansion, authorities can consider confining time for cyclists and car drivers in using the same road. For example, travelers with bicycles can use the road from 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. and those with cars can share the street from 8 a.m. to 10 a.m. Furthermore, traffic wardens can stand in the road to control the transport system and ensure it run smoothly.

By and large, I reckon that traffic congestion and accidents are two main common problems when cyclists and car drivers share the same road. In terms of solutions, the government can apply different implements, such as expanding roads, applying time restrictions, and having people controlling the system.