Since the end of the Black Death, around the year 1350, global population has been rising continuosly. Medical improvements, better sanitary conditions and the introduction of high-tech tools in agriculture has lead to an explosion of the world population since the 1950s and these days we face the unprecedented challenge of feedinfg eight billion people. At a time when maximizing agricultural prodcutivity has become a global priority, the introduction of Artifical Intelligence, robots and drones could arm farmers with tools that can boost productivity, reduce waste increase yelds.

Given that the food demand is soaring in the wake of the increase in world´s population, strong actions should be taken to produce enough food for everyone on the Earth. The latest technological discoveries have been gradually taking root since the last years and what once was unimaginable it is now commonplace. If we could cast a glimpse in the future of farming, sensors would be able to detect a disease affecting a root, alerting drones that can rapidly detect the plants. All these data would be analysed by Artificial Interlligence while robots would take actions, averting a disaster. Those inventions combined with genetic modifications can play a pivotal role in stimulating crops growth and resistance to parasites. Governments should therefore allocate resources in this strategical field, making funding scientific research a priority.

But what can we do i our day to day life to reduce waste of food? Although ramping up food production remains the most effective solution to satisfy the increasingly demand, cutting down on wate is something that everyone of us can do. For instance, more attention should be paid when it comes to going to the grocery. Too often we buy too much food, more than we actually need. Some dairy foods or meat go bad very quickly and as a result are thrown away. Restaurants and hotels produce an incredible amount of waste of food which could be avoided by reducing the number of dishes available or offering free meals to the needy.

Given all of that, the problem caused by the increasing demand of food can be attacked from two fronts. Firstly, by blending agriculure with high-tech in order to optimize harvest and intensify productivity. Secondly, by reducing senseless waste of food and making use of leftovers.