Demand for food is increasing worldwide.What is the cause of this?What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

Food has always been a major concern since it is one of the human's indispensable need. The global population growth along with the rising income in developing countries are driving up global food demand. Governments serve an important function in meeting this demand0

The first possible cause of an ever- increasing demand for food could be the tremendously rising population of the world. Actually, over the last century, the global population has quadrupled. Consequently, the more the population grow, the more food is needed. Moreover, people are surrounded by a wide range of advertisements which encourage them to buy products even when they really do not need them. These advertisements develop a consumerist culture that people want more than they actually need. For example, when people go to restaurants, they order a meal which they cannot eat all of it and a big portion of that will be thrown away as a waste.

However, to keep up with this increasing demand for food governments should make essential attempts. Not only should government increase the area under cultivation but also should improve farming techniques by allocating certain educational programs for the farmers. Government can hold some seminars to educate farmers about modern and safe fertilizers to use on farmland or the watering systems which let them grow more products.

In conclusion, although the need for food is on the rise because of over population and food loss, government is able to meet this desire by allocating more area to be cultivated or educating farmers to use new agricultural systems and materials.