In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

Never has the elderly population been as concerned as today. People in developed countries can live longer than ever before due to several factors such as the development in medical technology and food supplies. Although this trend may cause many drawbacks for the individuals and society there are some solutions that the government can apply to handle this problem.

The rise in average life expectancy will definitely cause a lot of negative effects. Firstly, it will lead to the growth in the number of people who are eligible to access the retirement pension, therefore the government must increase the taxes on working people to compensate for the state budget. In short, an aging population means a greater burden on young adults. Also, hospitals and health centre will be put on more pressure due to the fact that the demand for healthcare increases. More young people will have to work as doctors or nurses, which may cause a crisis of employees for other fields.

To resolve the problem of increasing life expectancy, the government can take several actions to tackle the effects of the aging population. Firstly, they can consider increasing the retirement age because nowadays, many retired people still have proper health feel healthy enough to proceed to work and contribute to the economy. Also, the residents should be encouraged to have more children or the government can encourage immigration in order to increase the number of young workers.

In conclusion, an aging population will cause several problems for the community but the government can still control its effects by taking reasonable measures.