In the developed world average life expectancy is increasing What problems will this cause for individuals and society Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations

With the advent of technology and industrialization, a dramatic upliftment with improved social security has led to the well-being and increased life expectancy in the developed nations, resulting in a higher proportion of aged people. Although this is a positive change, however, the adverse bearings associated with it to society and its people can not be overlooked. This essay would endeavor to shed some light on different measures that are required to be followed in order to grapple with the impacts of this emerging scenario.

To begin with, one of the major problems is the increased burden on the healthcare system. Especially during the unprecedented times, the same becomes so overwhelming and challenging to safeguard the senior people. For instance, amid the Covid-19 pandemic, the countries with aged people got badly targeted leading to a higher fatality rate. Besides this, in order to accommodate seniors in jobs for their livelihood, youngsters mostly struggle to enter into the workforce system which further results in an increased rate of unemployment.

Furthermore, despite these emerging issues, a country can put serious efforts to curb its long-term effects on society. One such measure includes lowering the retirement age to provide an equal opportunity to the young generation for further economic growth. In addition, facilitating the seniors with all the basic health, pension, and technical services can help to mitigate the problem to a greater extent. For example, old people should have access to all the intuitive mobile apps, cutting-edge technologies, and improved dental facilities to reduce the burden on the internal economy.

To conclude, even though an increase in life expectancy is a sign of a burgeoning economy, proper planning to run the same is highly synonymous with a balanced social and economic structure.