A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and

material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness, and trust, no

longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this modern era, a lot of changes have happened in one's perception of valuing another person's worth and standard. It is commonly believed that nowadays status of everyone is measured based on their luxurious lifestyle and existence of power and popularity within a community instead of traditional ethical values such as loyalty, trust, and kindness. I am in accord with the given statement and think that there is a need to acknowledge and respect the old-time golden values which were given an immense value by our ancestors.

The most important point in support of my view can be witnessed during job interviews. Although everyone gets an opportunity to showcase their talent in front of the selection committee, those with powerful connections, nepotism, and strong social status grabs the outcome in their favor. A similar scenario can be observed while admitting a child in a private institution. For example, people with hefty donations and strong influence are preferred over an ethical and deserving student.

Furthermore, gone are the days when a person with kind behavior was respected for all their good deeds in society. These days, one who has no bank balance does not deserve a hearty acknowledgment, despite contributing a lot for the welfare of society. For instance, it is often seen that those with grounded thoughts are mostly treated as orthodox and outdated in a group if one has a weak financial condition.

To conclude, it is an undeniable fact that artificiality and show-off have engulfed the thinking of our society, where ethical values are losing their grip day by day. If it continued, our generations will slowly get deprived of such successful mantras of life. Hence, as responsible citizens, it's our duty to bring this valuable treasure back into our lives by respecting those who possess these values.