Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new

medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people

argue that these experiments should be banned because it is

morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor

of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the advent of technology in the healthcare system, innovative approaches for developing effective medicines by experimenting with efficient techniques on animals are highly prevalent in our society. In this context, the school of thought that exploiting animals for human needs is unethical is opposed by many others in the favor of mankind. This essay would endeavor to shed some light on the driving thoughts behind this mentality, followed by my personal view.

To begin with, it is an irrefutable fact that the safety of human life is by far the most important act in the entire globe. So, in order to achieve this goal, doctors rely a lot on the efficacy of experimentation of new drugs on animals. Besides proving the authenticity of the newly launched medication, animals are further tested to be utilized to create some life-saving drugs. For instance, recent research on medications to beat cancer, a deadly disease, has proven bliss in the life of survivors. Hence, to mitigate the side-effects of new drugs on humans, while lowering the mortality rates due to detrimental diseases, animal testing is of immense value.

By contrast, a section of society believes that this discrimination with animals should be outlawed. As animals play a pivotal role in maintaining nature's balance, hence, an over-dependency on the same can lead to their extinction. Moreover, at moral levels, it is against our ethics to torture animals for our own self-interests. For example, while experimenting with a new medication, a severe reaction can have an intimidating effect on the chosen animal. So, it is erroneous to give unbearable pain to animals for the sake of humanity.

To conclude, although views on the use of animals for the betterment of human health vary a lot among the masses, however, in my opinion, a properly regulated balanced act by the government is highly synonymous with balancing this practice. Also, while testing on animals, efforts should be made to reduce dependency on the same using some artificial techniques.