some people suggests that industries should be developed in the outskirts of the city. This essay will discuss the merits and drawbacks of suburban location for industries.

Firstly, there are so many advantages for industries being developed in suburabs.Companies needs a huge workforce, which are the major expense of each units; will be available cheaper in the outskirts of the cities, as the living costs are low. In addition most of the raw materials for industries are supplied by rural areas are often transported to cities where the factory located ,which cost much to the firms. In contrast if the companies located in rural areas can reduce the transportation of goods abruptly. Secondly, factories produce considerable environmental pollution, hence it will be better to avoid crowded places such as cities, while the suburbs are either minimally populated or inhabited, are the ideal location for industries. these location will harm minimally to human and environment as there will be better chance for disposing industrial wastes in a safer way. For example cement factories are built in remote locations where the raw materials are available and will make minimal human impact.

On the other hand, shifting factories to rural areas will make some issues in transportation and infrastructural aspects. For example factories need heavy machineries which will be difficult to move to suburbs. Electricity and good road facilities can be an issue in some areas, besides the manufactured goods need to carry back to cities for distribution. Finally skilled labourers will be lacking in rural set up, hence need to bring them from far distance.

Overall, shifting factories to suburbs helps the companies to reduce financial costs of the workforce but it will compensate with escalating transportation costs. Environmental costs are also will remain same but the impact on the community can be reduced.