It is widely believed that providing foreign aids to despondent countries can lead to positive and negative effects. In this essay, I will discuss both effects and reach a conclusion.

To begin with, there can be no doubt that it can help ease poverty in poor countries. Supporters of foreign aid posit that if rich countries will work hand in hand to help developing and poverty-stricken countries, this can help solve the problem of impoverished nations. With millions of families living below poverty lines, contributing in any way through money, trainings and medical assistance can promote equality and better the lives of other people.

In addition, it helps those who are caught in crises. That is to say, foreign aid is helpful not just for poor countries but also for those that are going through wars or famines or have experienced earthquakes and typhoons. Providing food and water to people in these areas can help them survive, while giving medical aid can keep diseases at bay and prevent them from becoming widespread epidemics.

However, it promotes corruption. In the ideal world, foreign aid always reaches the people who are in need. Unfortunately, this doesn’t always happen in the real world. In many developing countries, a large percentage of foreign aid is seized by corrupt government officials or organization leaders and placed in their own pockets. As a result, those who give aid incorrectly believe that they have made a difference in many people’s lives, while those who need assistance often don’t receive it and end up living in poor conditions.

In conclusion, giving financial aid to destitute nations is a humanitarian gesture and promises several benefits. However, critics are also correct in saying there are loopholes in the system. Therefore, donor nations ought to come up with a structural design to ensure aid is given to the right recipients and that it is properly implemented, with utmost focus on corruption.