Do the language mould the way we think? If we all spoke the same language, would we think in the same way? Discuss the issue using examples, details, and your personal experiences of English and your native language.

One of the greatest abilities that differentiates humans from other creatures is our language, which helps us string words together to convey our thoughts, emotions, and concepts. Due to the deep connection between language and cognition, there is a thought that language could influence the way we think and people would think in the same way in case they spoke the same language. However, this perspective cannot cover all situations.

The first point worth considering is the language’s function. Language is the tool people use to deliver the content created inside their minds. In this regard, even if people speak the same language, it cannot be a reflection of how and what people think. For instance, we all speak Vietnamese, on the contrary the language apparently cannot shape what people think. Obviously, people express and voice numerous sets of ideas and perceptions in any conversation. Sticking this opinion to globalization, we all see that for a segment of society, it is an enormous step for VietNam to have higher economic growth, better living conditions, and improved resources for socio-economic development. The opponents, with the same language, would argue that Vietnam loses core value regarding long-term tradition when foreign cultures are introduced to Vietnam, and many more might say it would not be a big deal.

Another piece of evidence to support the aforementioned stand of view is that a lot of people misperceive the association between language and culture. To explain, they believe that language shapes the way we think because language is part of the culture, and culture influences our awareness; thereby concluding that language also affects how we sculpt our minds. However, it is not uncommon for people to disagree on diverse standpoints, even if they speak the same language. For instance, there are a lot of non-native speakers who can communicate excellently with foreigners. Nevertheless, every time a negotiation is underway, there is no way to avoid different thoughts about working manners and the goal-reaching methods. While the Germans are very straightforward and decisive in coping with problems, and punctuality is of paramount importance, Vietnamese people tend to tackle problems indirectly, softly with rubber-time characteristics is commonly accepted.

The method of learning language also accounts for why language can not form our comprehension. When we learn a new language, the way for us to comprehend the meaning of a word is to translate it into our native language. After understanding the interpretation of one word and then many words, we interpret the culture of the language we are learning; as a result, we expand our mindset and perspectives from many different viewpoints of diverse cultures. However, the acquisition of such information is not something language can manage, but it is our consciousness that determines what we can and want to absorb. Language is just one of the most helpful ways in which we can visualize a particular problem. Also, one quote from Chomsky contains the same layer of meaning: “cognition is an overall term that includes every system of belief, knowledge, understanding, interpretation, perception, and so on. Language is just one of many systems that interact to form our whole complex of cognitive structures”.

In conclusion, indeed, we cannot deny the sophisticated relationship between language and our cognition. However, it does not mean that language can decide what we need to be aware of when we take this issue into different situations related to language’s role, the connection between language and culture and way of learning a language.