Do you agree or that improvements in technology reduce the role of Olympic Games.

Olympic Games are the world's most important international athletic competition. They bring together thousands of the finest athletes to compete against one another in a variety of individual and team sports. Although technology is having an impact on the Olympics in a profound way I disagree that it is reducing the role of Olympic Games. I believe that technology allows us to more fully appreciate everything about the competition and the athletes who commit their lives to fulfil their dreams.

To begin with, winning an Olympic event is the highest honour people can achieve even in the modern times. Unknown athletes get the chance to attain national, and in particular cases, international fame. Secondly, Olympic Games are the best medium of cultural exchange even today. Different people of different countries, religions, cultures etc get together at Olympics and the participants get a chance to know about other cultures. The Games also constitute a major opportunity for the host city and country to showcase themselves to the world.

Although the technological realities of the modern times have brought many changes in the Olympic Games of today, they have not reduced the importance of the Olympic Games. Technology plays a part in every aspect of these games, from the first torch relay hand-off to the closing ceremonies. Athletes and trainers use technology in preparing for the games to optimize their training. Sports equipment manufacturers use design technology to build improved apparatus, gear and more that will enable their clients to deliver a high level performance. Broadcasters use technology to better inform viewers of all aspects of the events. As a consequence, more and more people are exposed to these games.

People who opine that technology has reduced the role of Olympic Games say so because the ugly claws of commercialism have crept into this field also. As a result, the Olympics has shifted away from pure amateurism to professionalism. The win-at-all-cost attitude has come up and many use unethical means to win. They also say that only the rich can afford technology to boost their performance and this creates a gap between the rich and poor. I still believe that without inherent ability no amount of technology can make anybody a winner or loser.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, technology has brought colossal changes in The Olympic Games of today but in no way have they decreased the role of Olympic Games.