Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Currently, with mushrooming human population and their need, wild habitats are facing grim situation as a result to shelter these animals they are being kept at zoos. But it has become a hot topic whether the zoos should be closed as it seems intensive cruel or encouraged more in order to protect rare animals. It is true that people from different backgrounds may have divergent attitude toward this issue. This essay discusses both views before coming to empirical conclusion.

On the one hand, it is understandable that caging animals in zoo is brutal and therefore it should be abandoned for some reasons. The first and foremost is that keeping animals in captivity is unethical. Regard to the human’s dominating kind on the planet but still have no right to use animals for entertainment. Moreover, zoo exhibit animals with the aim of making profit. Therefore, It turns out that such animals will be caged underprivileged conditions, for the long-term, they will lose their instinct to hunt food or even died. According to some report, for instance, many animals die in zoos due to unfavorable climate conditions or emotional shock.

On the other hand, there are still positive impacts of protecting endangered species. At first, zoos are artificial environment that are made by people for wild animals, especially for those at the verge of extinction such as pandas or rhinos. This also allows scientists to study animal behavior. Another consideration of zoos is that they employ numerous people, therefore providing job opportunities and income for local residents. Also, the money that zoo make can used for conservation projects.

To recapitulate, both sides are well-grounded. Although zoo plays an important role in wildlife conservation, I would argue that government should take serious steps in order to provide more realistic environment resembling with their natural environment.