Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However,other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Talking about the function of zoos is always debatable. It is often argued that zoos are supposed to be closed because animals receive very violent handling by the zookeepers. However, several people agree that zoos should remain in existence due to their crucial responsibilities to protect endangered animals. I partially agree up to a point that zoo presence is essential not only to protect but also to preserve animals which I will elaborate below.

To begin with, there are several issues related to zoos where animals get brutal treatment both mentally and physically by the zookeeper. Regarding on animal physical abuse, zookeepers tend to push the animal physically in terms of attractions which generates the animals nasty fatigue. Furthermore, the zookeepers tend to ignore the animals necessity such as enough meals and suitable accommodation. For instance, Elephants at Ragunan Zoo seem to suffer mentally in captivity since the lack of both spaces and food supplies. As a result, animals are suffering ironically that can lead into their death. Therefore, the zoos are supposed to be close if their management is not being improved where many cruel cases to animals appear rampantly which can impact animals to be aggressive and unpredictable.

Shifting towards the second view, the existence of zoos is still essential to establish a new environment to prevent animal extinction. This is regarding the fact that myriad of endangered species lose their habitat. For instance, forest fires cause the loss of Orangutan habitat in Borneo Island which means that they will be homeless. Moreover, zoos are built to protect the species from the illegal hunter, especially for those rare animals. Therefore, the zoos carry serious responsibilities for the forthcoming animal offspring not only continuously maintaining but also preserving.

To conclude, the urgency of zoos function is still needed due to animal preservation and it is better to maintain the existence of zoos. This is as long as the people are taking care of species necessity seriously for the forthcoming era.