It is widely suggested that animal testing should be banished in terms of ethical-related issues, while those opposing to this advocate that this phenomenon greatly contributes to the medical advances, and research purposes. This essay solely agrees with the later idea which supports conducting experiments on living animals. Additionally, this essay will make discussion about methods undergoing non-animal trials.

First of all, experiments on animals make huge contribution to the advance of human medical discoveries, and therefore, increase survival chances for people. By adopting genetic-modification techniques on animals, mice and rats can be remodeled to make them perform illnesses that they would not normally suffer from, and thus provides better insights to develop treatments for humans. Taking Europe as a prime example, at the moment, roughly 10% of European animal tests are for general toxicity, 35% for basic research, 45% for drugs and vaccines, and the remaining 10% for variety uses such as diagnosing diseases.

With regards to inhumanity, researchers have developed potential measurements to reduce experiments on living creatures like animals. One of the most state-of-the-art technologies that has been used widely these days is the application of 3-D printer for developing artificial human organs. Liver, the organ which is responsible for decompsoing toxic chemicals into smaller molecules that can then be excreted, is artificially created to observe how detrimental substances could affect human heaths. This novel approach enables to reduce testing involving animals.

In conclusion, many countries are still keen on animal experimentation due to its great contribution to the development of scientific research. However, thanks to the advancement of technology, scientists could have another alternative which reduces animal testing.