Do you think that modern technology, such the internet and computers will ever replace the book or the written word as the main source of information?

This following essay will explain why modern technology, such internet and computers will never replace the book or the written word as the main source of information.

Internet and computers have become part of human’s life. We can do almost everything with these sophisticated technologies. One of many things we can do is accessing information. Internet provides us various sources of information which can be accessed easily from our bedrooms; we can browse online newspapers from the Daily Telegraph, Time, to local magazines – Kompas, Tempo, Sindo, etc.; or we can simply read e-books downloaded from free websites. One does not need to pay a single penny – except to buy the voucher of the cellphone – to get news and information because all they need to do is to activate their computers or mobilephones, click their news application, and, afterwards, every news they want will be presented before them.

Though cheap and easily accessed, it also has several disadvantages. News presented in online newspaper or magazine are usually not so comprehensive as those of printed ones. They might be rich in quantity but rather poor in quality, unlike printed media having holistic ideas about issues. Furthermore, radiation emitted from the monitor of a computer will harm our health. Too much time spent in front of the monitor will make our face pale because of the radiation that, stated in some research, could trigger lethal disease such cancer.

In conclusion, eventhough internet and computers have some advantages in delivering news, it still possesses several disadvantages and the presence of it indicates that the book or the written words like newspaper or magazine still can not be replaced. Anyway, nothing can beat how it feels to peal page by page of book or any other printed media.