It is true that technological breakthroughs have brought many changes to every facet of mankind. Whether new technology make modern living easier or not has been a heated topic recently. Both of these views will be discussed before my opinion is stated.

On the one hand, people who advocate the idea that high- tech devices hold the power to take favorable impacts on our lives have their own justifications. First, with the aid of new technology, especially the internet, can enable children to self- study and explore their fields of interests. In parallel with the widespread use of the internet, the proliferation of free educational websites and online informative resources has made the access to information easier than ever before. By only browing those sites, students can enrich their knowledge of any subject. For instance, children who are interested in English can improve their skills by watching videos made by experienced native teachers and intimating the ways they speak and write. In addition, the introduction of social networks such as Facebook, Twitter,... have facilitated long- distance communication, allowing people to connect with one another no matter where they are. By using those advanced tools, people from different countries could be brought together through text-messaging or video calls. This was never the case in the past when they rarely had a chance to communicate or meet with anyone outside their immediate circle of community.

On the other hand, it is argued by some people that those modern breakthroughs are the culprits of contributing to worsen our lives. First, it makes modern workers even stressful. As there is no escaping from always- on connectivity, modern citizens can never get away from their work and problems. Even when they are on a vacation, few people can resist the temptation to check their work emails. Moreover, electronic devices can have the result of discouraging real interaction. Young people now show a tendency of immersing themselves in social networks available on Ipads or smart phones rather than real- life circle of friends. Consequently, they are no longer forming close and supportive relationships which are the fabric of the society. Society on the whole is gradually becoming disjointed as well.

In conclusion, there is no doubt about the significant influence of high- tech tools on human being. However, i am strongly convinced that the merits of technology are much weightier than the drawbacks based on a wide range of advantages it offers.