Preserving historic buildings is vital to understanding nation's heritage. In the process of restoring them, some people beieve that the government should not compensate on any changes done in their traditional appearance, and that the buildings should be restored as they were. This essay will advocate a practical approach to this scenario.

Restoration is said as the process of accurately depicting the form, features and character of property as it appeared at a particular period of time by reconstructing of missing features from the restoration period. All around the world, there are many active redevelopment projects undertaken by the government to preserve the sanctity of these ancient treasures. However, it is not reasonably possible to restore each and every detail of these buildings as it was.

Primarily, the construction of these century- old buildings begins to wear in time. In such cases, some parts of the buildings might not be in a recoverable condition. Here, the architects need to reconstruct that particular part to give a complete look to the puzzle of these primavel structures.

Therefore, it is unaccomodating for the government to demand accurate traditional appearance of the buildings. Sometimes,a few relevant contemporary touches needed to be added to make the older buildings appeasing enough.

In conclusion, we can safely say that the government should not be insistent on minute preservation of traditional appearance of old buildings. Minor modifications can definitely be made to adapt existing buildings to compatible new uses. This not only make good economic sense, but preserve the legacy also.