Formal qualifications are now considered to be one of the most decisive elements in the recruitment processes of many organizations since they are thought to be the best indicator of an individual's ability. I believe that this trend is a negative development as it shifts students' focus from real knowledge gains to ways of achieving higher scores, which results in many social issues.

Formal academic qualifications are now prefered because they are proof of a candidate's competence, and even sometimes excellence. Univeristy curriculums are carefully designed with the ultimate goal to generate a quality workforce for the labor market. As these courses are usually demanding and challenging, students have to exert themselves to complete their study and obtain a degree, This means that qualification holders, especially the top achievers, have been equipped with sufficient specialized knowledge, enabling them to work well. This is particularly the case for research- related jobs in which knowledge foundation and academic excellence, rather than skills or experience, is of great importance.

Although a focus on qualifications may make the recruitment efficient and effortless, i am concerned that this is a negative trend. An increasing emphasis on formal academic qualifications may discouraging students from improving practical skills nor accumulating hands on working experience, generating an unskilled and unexperienced workforce. Indeed, when employers recruits a person only based on their qualifications, this may convey a misleading message among undergraduates that being able to pass exams at schools is enough to find a job. Such belief, in reality, has given grounds to the birth of a huge proportion of graduates with underdeveloped skills, who then went unemployed in Vietnam. Stories about university vale- dictorians becoming jobless for years are ironically common in the country, raising the issue of skills training for the youth.

In conclusion, the preference for formal academic qualifications among employers are understandable as they truly refect job applicants' ability in some extent. However, on a broader scale, this is a negative developement as it undermines the importance of hands on skills and working experience, giving birth to an unskilled workforce and even higher youth unemployment rates.