In the modern world, the issue of environmental degradation has been evolved as a heated topic of controversy. It is suggested that people should lead a simpler lives to mitigate environmental pollution. As i refute the effectiveness of this notion, i am convinced that technology is a more crucial key to tackling environmental issue.

On the one hand, some people believe that enjoying life with the use of less sophisticated technology could reduce the adverse effects on environmental problems. First of all, restricting the use of high- tech applications which consumes electricity can lead to a more environmentally friendly lifestyle. For example, most greenhouse gases emissions which stem from the overuse of electronic devices including televisions, air- conditioners and refrigerators could be controlled if the users limit their dependence on them. Moreover, people now have a tendency of using all types of poisonous chemicals and pesticides for their farming. It is beneficial for the environment if farmers use organic manure. Despite the fact that those chemicals after being processed by machines could be convenient and easy to stimulate the plants to grow, they could pollute not only the soil but also the water distribution.

On the other hand, i personally believe that technology is more plausible in impeding environmental contamination. First, technology can generate electricity from alternative resources, which raises the prospect of a renewable energy era. If solar or wind power is fully developed, people will halt the consumption of non- renewable energy supply like coals or fuels. Besides that, advanced technology in production could reduce the massive amount of exhaust fumes emitted by factories. For instance, the installation of modern recycling systems could guarantee that industrial waste would be treated properly, which would safeguard water and soil resources.

In conclusion, although living simpler lives could probably contribute the resolution of environmental issues, i am firmly of the view that technology should be highlighted as the key answer for these problems.