Doing volunteer work is a waste of time and shouldn t be encouraged among students Do you agree or disagree with this idea

It is undoubtedly that doing volunteer work is unseparated activity among students. Nevertheless, some people think that students should not be encouraged to get involved in volunteering because it such waste a time. I strongly disagree with the idea that volunteering is useless activity because it will give more benefits both for students and for the society.

To commence with, volunteer work will give students a lot of experience that can boost their emotional and cognitive skills such as public speaking, building any networking, team working, and problem solving. As we know, students will be asked to join and apply their knowledge in community whether individually or in a group so that they will be pushed to solve any problems in community and communicate their idea to the public. Additionally, during voluntary work, they will meet a lot of related parties in solving the problem such as the local government, private parties, or other social organization that will be beneficial for their future career development.

Furthermore, conducting voluntary work will also provide a lot of advantages for the community itself because the inhabitants will be helped to solve their problem through students academic knowledge. For instance, in a small village in Indonesia, students from the Faculty of Agriculture University of Indonesia gave sophisticated hydraulic pump that help villagers to get water during drought. Moreover, the community also have an opportunity to learn something new from students during their volunteering work. For example, the community service conducted by the students from Faculty of Pharmacy in Surabaya was purposed to educate public about antibiotic use which was very beneficial to increase the public awareness in rational medication use. Hence, they can apply their new knowledge to their daily life so that their health status will be improved too.

In summary, I strongly disagree that voluntary work is considered as useless activity because it is not only can make students learn cognitive and emotional skills but also the community can learn and be helped to solve their problems.