Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries,

many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the

closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own

knowledge or experience.

Small local marketers have lost competition against fast-growing supermarket businesses in some countries. It's considered by some that local communities are about to disappear because of this change. I completely not disagrees with the statement.In this essay I'll give reasons for my opinion as shopping in the supermarket is cheaper & provides a wider variety of products.

Firstly, choosing to buy from a supermarket to the detriment of a local shop may result in lower prices for many of the goods. The acquisition potential of a big retail company is significantly higher than what a local seller is able to produce; hence, the price can be negotiated in the customer's favors. For instance, tomatoes price in super market (Ideal Bazar) is lower than in the local daily and weekly market, which makes it affordable for many people.

Secondly, local producers are unable to provide variety compared to supermarket possibilities. When in the supermarket anyone can notice the diversity of products in general and several types of the same item in particular. As an example, it is a rarity to find two or three sorts of apples in the local market while for a supermarket is a usual practice to do so. As a result, people can pick in accordance to their needs or preferences, and furthermore, they are able to complete the shopping list from a single place, which is the supermarket.

In conclusion, switching from the local market to the area supermarket could eventually be a positive fact for the community, resulting in benefits such as smaller prices for the same product and quality, last but not least diversification.