Due to the increasing density of living areas in a city, most residents are suffering from physical and social dangers. Consequently, they are against living in the city.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give your reasons for your answer.

With the development of socio-economic development, urban areas have become much more overpopulated and this leads to some social as well as health problems for those who are living in the cities. There are those who argue that people would not like to live in the city because of these negative issues. To my mind, it is unacceptable to agree with this viewpoint for concrete reasons.

First of all, the life of city has been considered as the best place to make money even though persons deal with some problems. It is clear that while manual workers and skilled employees have a great deal of opportunities to have a good job with high salary because there are varieties of industrial zones to attract numbers of labourers. Meanwhile, in the countryside, it is impossible for labourers to apply a good job to earn money. Therefore, living in city is still an ideal place to have stable income although people cope with crimes or contaminated environment.

Another important thing is that persons who live in cities, they have better health service and better standard of living. It may be true that most hospitals with advanced technologies are located in big cities. Therefore, if people are suffered from serious diseases such as diabetes, stroke and cancer, they have better opportunity to be cured and looked after by competent doctors and nurses. According to this, people live in cities with a large amount of money; they also enjoy both material and cultural life thanks to theatres, cinemas and supermarkets. Therefore, most people still would like to live in city. For example, in Vietnam, in recent research the number of people who live in the cities rising from 30 million to 40 million people between 2010 and 2014.

It seems to me that although persons surely deal with social and physical issues, they may have a strong determination to live in city. These reasons can be indicated such as high income and available services to meet demands of improving standard of living.