Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

In recent decades, the increase in crime rate has become a great concern for people all around the world due to its negative impacts on citizens’ lives. Although the sources of crime are said to appear from both the government and citizens, people can take step to prevent this trend.

These are numbers of reasons why this pattern exists. First, violent films nowadays can be widely broadcast in social media, especially in television, which leads a majority of children and teenagers to juvenile delinquency. For example, a small child watch violent films daily is more likely to behave in aggressive ways, or even commit crimes at young age. Secondly, since the law is not strict enough for people to adhere to, they otherwise tend to break the law to achieve their desires. For instance, if the government set ten-year imprisonment for stealing in stead of punishing them with social activities, citizens would tend to give up wrong thoughts and start to make end meet by their own abilities.

Nevertheless, some solutions can be taken into effect to minimize the crime rate. First, telecommunication companies should limit the TV viewers for violent films by broadcasting these films at midnight when children are falling asleep. In fact, Vietnam channels currently do not give ways to violent films in the time frame from 8pm to 10pm , which has already minimize the crimes caused by teenagers in some latest years. Secondly, government should increase the time of imprisonments in order to give up would-be offenders. For example, some European countries not only imprisoning citizens for drunk driving but also sentencing to death penalties at the third time already set drunk-driving crime at lower rate.

In conclusion, the increase in crime among countries initiates from reckless behaviors of both the government and citizens. By following these first steps, crime rate is expected to fall with the minimum damages to society.