According the recent surveys, crime has rate been moving uphill and it’s been increasing each year over the last decade. Any country is no exception to it; even developed countries are also having the same problem with crime rate. The recent surveys also showing that, juvenile crime rate is also increasing and it is one of the major concerns in many nations. This essay will dive into the causes of crime and suggest remedies to mitigate the rise in criminal activities.

The reasons for crimes are countless. However, drugs, alcohol, anger, social problems and property disputes play the major rule. Some people are forced to do crimes because of their financial status and to survive they unintentionally do wrong things. Poor countries are the examples are such crime rates. To solve the crime problems, governments can either focus on draconian punishments, or improve employment opportunities, invest in good housing projects and tackle drug and alcohol abuse. Government should also impose strict laws on weapon culture. The law of providing gun license came into the picture as a part of own security to the people. However, the dark side of the gun licensing is increasing the crime rate.

Illegal trafficking of narcotics is also seated as one of the main cause for crime rate and it is a proven fact that, juveniles attract more to the drugs. Therefore, government should also focus on pegging the children from drugs. They should run awareness campaigns at schools and increasing of funds for drug and alcohol rehabilitation programmers would help reducing the crime rate. The government should also focus on increasing employment opportunities in poorer areas.

In conclusion, crime is a major issue, but cracking down on offenders with a harsh penal system is not the only way. These problems can be solved through the government providing jobs and funding which should raise living standards and dramatically reduce crime levels.