Economic growth and development are usually considered to be beneficial both for individuals and for society as a whole. What are some advantages and disadvantages of economic development?

Progress and increase in economic status are said to have positive effect for the community and the citizens as well. Opening lots of work opportunity seems to be the huge advantage of an improved economy, while overcrowding in the urban area would be the major drawback.

A rich economy means many investors would consider establishing new investments and businesses that could open job opportunity to the members of the society thus, decreasing the rate of unemployment. As a result of this, head of the family will be able to provide for the basic needs of their family such as food, education and health. For instance, in China, improvement in infrastructure are continuous making the Chinese unemployment rate to as low as 4.1% in 2015.

In contrast, a climb in the economic ladder has its drawback. Overcrowding in the metropolis is considered a negative effect. As the aftermath of more infrastructure and employment in the city, most people opt to move from the countryside to the city. Due to the aforementioned scenario, the metro will be congested. To cite an example, in Makati, the business center of the Philippines has the worst traffic jam in the said country because most of the employees would travel here at the same time in the morning.

To summarize, growth and development in the economy are acknowledged to be beneficial both for the society and members of the society. An increase employment rate is an advantage of this and congestion in the city would be the disadvantage.