Education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education costs are skyrocketing in many countries around the globe, and an increasing number of people have voiced the opinion that education at all levels should be fully funded by the government. I largely agree that education should be free to all students, except for some cases in which students receive specialty training that leads to a lucrative career.

Many governments already choose to pay for education through secondary school because they have decided it is good for society. This is wise public policy for a variety of reasons. An important one is that equal opportunity to receive a basic education promotes social equity. Some students may be wealthy and others poor, but if all children can study from the same curriculum with the same quality of instruction and resources, they at least have a similar opportunity to succeed in school. Government funding of education is the best way to ensure this will occur for all children. Furthermore, in regards to university education, it is a great injustice when a brilliant student cannot attend an excellent university if the sole reason is that his parents can’t pay the tuition. This is one way intergenerational poverty is perpetuated.

However, it is unnecessary for the government to pay for all forms of education, especially advanced degrees leading to well-paying jobs. For example, even though law school is very expensive, some lawyers can earn enough money to pay of their debts in a few short years after earning a degree. Of course, not all lawyers earn a high paycheck. Many choose careers serving the public for much lower pay. Indeed, the government should pay off most, if not all, of the debts for students who choose lower-paying jobs like these. By contrast, attorneys and other professionals who go onto very high-paying careers after graduation should not be subsidized by the government.

In sum, society benefits tremendously by offering its citizens free education. While the government need not subsidize some highly profitable professions, the general benefit of a fully funded education should be extended to all.