“Education should be free”

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The suggestion about free schooling has always aroused great controversy in the public. Whilst there is an overwhelming majority consenting to fee-free education policy, I personally disagree with it to some extent as I find it rather impracticable regarding some aspects.

Firstly, free education cannot ensure long-term maintenance and investment due to financial limitation. When it comes to reality, schools’ budget is absolutely reliant on the government, which is likely to be inadequate to satisfy students’ expectation of facilities and teachers’ of their salary. Federal taxes can make no difference, unlike common opinions as they are also allocated to other services as indispensable as education like healthcare, national defence, etc.

Moreover, when education is fully funded by federal taxes, which is the only main source of money replacing tuition fee, the government can gain greater control over educational services. Such control is much likely to build up a rigid, unresponsive and bureaucratic education system. Meanwhile, paid education can be independent enough to make necessary changes such as tailoring its own teaching programs or methods for students’ sake.

However, the prospect of making education completely free could carry many obvious benefits, which is undeniable. But, after all, it is still a fantasy unless methods of handling its significant drawbacks are adopted. Additionally, there are already plenty of educational supports available, including merit-based scholarships and awards given based on students’ performances or income backgrounds, which really ease their financial burden.

In conclusion, completely free education is far from practice as its advantages seem to pale in comparison with drawbacks. Important changes take much consideration; otherwise, they would have adverse effects. Therefore, I would like to emphasize my opinion that free education should be offered to certain students under particular circumstances.