Employers should give their staff at least a 4-week holiday a year to make employees better at their jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

No matter how enthusiastic toward work, people need enough time to rest and do what they like to make life meaningful and colorful. Some people argue that it is necessary for giving staffs a long time holiday, mostly 4 weeks, to make them work better. I believe it is more appropriate to let workers themselves to decide the time and duration of the holiday. And this essay will discuss this question in two aspects.

On the one hand, some bosses refuse to give their employees enough holiday since they believe their workers will feel unfamiliar after a long time entertainment when returning to workplace. Staffs always feel uncomfortable when they just get use to a life with more leisure time but then have to return to work. And they often need a not short length of time to recover and adjust to the best condition. Thus many employers prefer to provide short time rest to staffs and let them learn knowledge or relax.

On the other hand, however, many employers complain about their short time rest since they can’t feel relax and having a real life. Some workers like a lone time holiday so they can have a long time trip with families. A short time rest can’t help some staffs escape from strain and they still feel exhausted when they back to work. In a long-term they will have negative attitude to work and thus have lower efficiency.

So it is necessary to let worker itself to choose the length and time of the holiday. Overall, people are different, some may adjust easily in a short time rest while some may not. At least, it is a personal matter and should be left to workers’ own discretion.