One of the most severe issues that the majortiy of nations face is ecological degradation. It is attributed to two key circumstances relating to human activities including industrialization and deforestation for intensive land use; therefore, both manufacturing companies and individuals have to be accountable for environmental conservation.

There are two principal factors that inflict environmental degradation. The main one is the industrial waste discharged from manufacturing. More specifically, chemical effluents, which are by-products of industries, are discharged into bodies of water without having undergone proper treatment methods, causing water pollution and subsequently harm to aquatic life. Another influence is deforestation for other land uses such as agriculture and infrastructure. Fauna and floral species are cleared to make room for cropland and accommodation to cater to the increasing food and housing needs triggered by the rising population. As a result, there is a massive loss of vegetative cover and trees, leading to ecological imbalance.

Therefore, both industrial firms and individuals should be accountable for preserving the environment for the damage they caused to it, but only governments can solve it effectively. First and foremost, they can impose stricter legislation to deter factories from releasing chemical waste into the environment. For example, the Vietnamese government enacted a decree on industrial waste control under the Environmental Protection Law 2020, successfully reducing the amount of toxic waste from industrial plants and significantly ameliorating the water quality of rivers. Furthermore, laws against deforestation can be introduced by states to avoid detrimental impacts on the natural habitats of animals and plants. To be more specific, it should be made compulsory for residents to farm and erect their houses in certain areas which are far removed from wildlife. This can be implemented by introducing punishments such as the enforcement of land recovery and monetary fines for those who break the laws.

In conclusion, environmental deterioration is ascribed to industrial processes and deforestation; thus, industrial companies and individuals should be responsible for environmental damage. However, viable measures must be taken by governments such as the enactment of legislation for industrial safety and land use to tackle it successfully. It is advisable that the governments of different nations should make a collective effort to tackle ecological harm more effectively.