In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

There is much discussion around the fact that people have a tendency to opt for e-books instead of the traditional ones. While it is beneficial in some aspects, its shortcomings are more significant for the followers of this trend.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why e-books bring citizens many benefits. First and foremost, it is widely believed that digital books are more convenient and easily accessible to readers than their physical counterparts. This is because e-books can be stored in a small device so individuals may bring a library of books wherever and whenever they want to read. As a result, it is likely to help readers reduce the number of heavy books they must carry, making reading a more effortless and streamlined process. Another compelling reason is that e-books are known to cost less than paper books so people tend to choose them because of the affordable price, especially for students who do not have financial strength.

On the other hand, there are still numerous drawbacks of e-books that people should take into consideration. The primary rationale is that digital books may lack the tactile and sensory experience of reading a physical book. It can be explained by the fact that some readers really enjoy the feeling of turning pages, the smell of ink, and maybe the overall aesthetic of a traditional book. Besides, spending too much time on e-books may cause strain on their eyes, which makes readers have to suffer from other eye problems. Last but not least, readers may sometimes find it difficult to search for certain older books in e-book format, as they are often only available in physical libraries. Consequently, if they want to enjoy this book, they have to purchase it in the bookstores or borrow it from the libraries.

In conclusion, the trend of reading e-books is progressively increasing. As discussed in the essay, I would contend that the merits of this trend can be outweighed by its limitations.