Some people believe that history has little to tell us. Other people believe that people must have knowledge of history in order to understand the present. What do you think about it?

People have different views about whether learning history brings public value or not in today’s society. While a school of thought holds the view that it is pointless for individuals to have historical knowledge, others reckon that history provides people with numerous beneficial things. From my point of view, I suppose that the latter view is more reasonable.

On the one hand, proponents of the idea that history brings people nothing valuable tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, people tend to opt for other subjects such as Mathematics, Literature, and English, which are related to their occupations and benefit their higher education. It can be explained by the fact that with the fast development of technology nowadays, history may no longer contribute to helping people have a higher promotion ladder than other areas of knowledge that the young generation finds unnecessary in the advanced technological world. Another compelling reason is that there are some historical information is not checked well which may lead to the wrong recognition of the past events of this region. As a result, the misunderstood understanding of history is likely to have a severe impact on a nation’s culture and customs.

On the other hand, I advocate for those who believe that it is vital for the public to learn about historical stories. The primary rationale is that history tells people more about what happened to their ancestors in the past. Viet Nam, for instance, is more than a 4000-year nation with many important events, and history may tell the residents how their country was kept free through dynasties. Consequently, the young may know about the roots of current events; therefore, they are likely to have pride in their ancestors as well as the awareness about building and keeping their nation independent. Furthermore, people can learn many lessons from the mistakes in the past and try to avoid them in the future, which contributes to a prosperous nation.

In conclusion, although the youth may not be into learning history in today’s world, I firmly reckon that it is crucial for citizens to widen their understanding of history because of their nation’s pride.