Some people believe that history has little to tell us. Other people believe that people must have knowledge of history in order to understand the present.

People have different views about how history plays an significant role in our life. While history has not enough information to us to some extent, I would argue that this subject is prominence in current day.

On the one hand, it is sometimes argued that studying history can be a wasteful activity. Firstly, knowledge of history can not apply to the present-day demands as science, technology and social systems in the past were out-of-date. For example, people often sent a letter to other in the past which took a long time, while, with the development of technology people can use electronic devices to keep in touch. If people put these trends to the present, the life-style might not develop gradually. Secondly, each historical event has different perpectives. For this reason, it makes learning history a waste of time because events can also be interpreted in a different way which makes what people learn in history less valuable.

On the other hand, history is a foundation in the present. Firstly, history teaches people what their forefathers experienced and suffered in the past in order to make their country what it is today. Therefore, people will continue to develop their nations like their acestors did. Next, history teaches us about travesties which have occurred in the past, such as the Holocaust. It is essential for both people in the past, present and future to never forget such events in order to honour the memory of those lost and to ensure it never happens again.

Inconclusion, it can not deny that learning history is not practical in the present, however it is a main basis to underpin a country.