Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people would subscribe the view that politicians are responsible for protecting the environment. However, I am of the opinion that both governments and citizens should play their role in solving environmental problems as will be discussed

On the one hand, the executive branch has an important duty in solving problems related to the environment. Firstly, the government has the power to enact laws to stop individual harmful acts as well as impose financial penalties on companies over-exploiting environment. For example, developed countries like Poland and Norway introduced green-tax policy which return tax for enterprises reducing emissions and toxic waste, which encourages companies protect our living environment. Secondly, only the authorities are able to have enough funding to deal with serious environmental problems. Extreme weather events like global warming, prolonged droughts, violent storms require much efforts in term of finance from cooperation of politicians and large environmental organizations to be effectively addressed.

On the other hand, the environment can not be fully protected without the contribution of individuals. Initially, without citizens’ law-respecting and following, governmental intervention hardly works. For instance, despite the number of laws established, in Vietnam it can be seen that numerous wastes on street, lake and the gas emissions from vehicles is increasing especially in big cities. Furthermore, individuals can help in various ways namely recycling more, buying more energy-efficient household items or planting more trees in their gardens. They can also start volunteering campaigns to ask other individuals and organizations to save environment.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I concur that protecting the environment is the obligation of both politicians and individuals.