As the impacts of issues like global warming and water contamination become palpable, environmental protection has become one of humanity's chief objectives in the 21st century. However, people are still divided on whether this responsibility rests with state officials or the ordinary citizens. In this answer, I will look at the unique roles that both parties play in this endeavor before drawing a reasoned conclusion.

On the one hand, reversing the damage done to planet is a massive undertaking that seems impossible without government intervention. Most of the ongoing environmental problems are the direct result of energy production and consumption - something that can be regulated by legislation. In addition to this, the funds they have at their disposal and their ability to mobilize resources make governments indispensable in tackling environmental issues. For example, taxpayers' money can be ploughed back into researching ways to make green technologies more commonplace and affordable.

On the other hand, while the participation of governments in alleviating environment problems is wholly warranted, it would be imprudent to underestimate the contribution of ordinary citizens. People can make a huge difference with simple changes in lifestyle like taking public transport or classifying trash. Another way in which individuals can help protect the environment is through their consumption. Patronizing stores that champion sustainable business practices and boycotting companies that are reluctant to reduce waste are practical steps that consumers can take to push for a greener future. By the same token, the electorate can use their votes to make an impact by electing officials that care deeply about the deterioration of the planet and are committed to changing the status quo.

In conclusion, environmental conservation is a colossal responsibility that must be borne by both the state and the people.